Star Wars: The Force Awakens

b1xgrdaicaeaism-0-0

I am not a big fan of sci-fi genre. I had never really paid attention to any Star Wars movie before. I know the existence of the ‘franchise’ and perhaps my favourite character is the least important but the cutest among all – Ewok. When they made a TV series for Ewok, I found myself following it almost religiously.

Last December, I chanced upon the opportunity to watch Star War: The Force Awakens. It wasn’t planned and I had no intention of watch the movie. My nephews were harassing me to bring them to watch this movie and I finally agreed. We went to watch it pretty late at night and I wasn’t proud of it. I was sleepy when I arrived at the theatre. I ate a bag of Cheezels when the screen was showing advertisements and movie trailers – out of boredom!

star-wars-force-awakens-official-poster
Official poster

When the movie started, I realised that this was a different experience. I had this question in my head, “Who is this girl? Why is the movie revolving around her?” – shows how ignorant I was. I didn’t know  that the new Jedi is female! Pleasant surprise I must say.

Ok, here are some of the  key-points for my review:

  1. Movie lead – female! Awesome!
  2. Rey – she does have a variety of facial expressions and funny ones too. I enjoyed this part very much.

    reytfa
    Rey played by Daisy Ridley
  3. A kind-hearted stormtrooper – rather unexpected for me.
  4. Han Solo died – sad! But Harrison Ford was entertaining as always.
  5. Surprisingly, the story was infused with a lot of humour. The bonding between Rey and Finn felt real.
  6. Maz Kanata – awesome acting by Lupita.
  7. Among the things that I like least are:
    – screen time for Princess Leia and R2-D2 was too short. I was hoping to see more of R2-D2 especially!
    – lightsaber fight was too little. Come on people, this is Star Wars! Lightsaber is the main attraction!
    – I didn’t feel the evil vibe from Kylo Ren that much but his hair was wicked! 😀

Overall, I enjoyed the movie despite being a non-sci-fi-fan. When I told my best friend (huge fan of Star Wars!) that I’ve seen the movie (before her), she asked, “So how was it? Do you still sci-fi is silly?” I just smiled sheepishly acknowledging the fact that I had fun watching it.

 

 

 

Leave a comment